About emerit National Certification

Certification is a demonstration of competency, which means that certified professionals meet job standards set by industry. Earning this important credential means that you will be recognized as a leading professional in your industry. By achieving emerit certification you earn the right to display your professional designation on business cards and résumés.

This page provides an overview of emerit professional certification programs. Read this section carefully and follow the links in each section for more information on a given subject.

  • Overview
  • Why Certification?
  • Certification Process
  • Certificate Types
  • Professional Designations


A certification program is designed to identify and recognize individuals who meet a specified standard defining competence in a field. Certified workers, on average, are more competent than non-certified workers. Certified workers are more competent because they usually take additional training which is geared toward the particular certification requirements for their occupation.

emerit certification is voluntary. The emerit certification credential is awarded to candidates based solely on their achievement of successful pass results on the certification examinations and on them having met the specified experience requirements.

The certification examinations are built directly from the National Occupational Standards following generally accepted testing principles.

One frequently asked question is “Do I have to know how to perform everything in the standards even if I do not do them in my job?” 

The answer is “Yes”. Occupational certification recognizes employees for having a broad range of knowledge and skills in a particular occupation. Your workplace policies may be different from the industry standards, but the candidate is still required to know and be able to perform the skills as outlined in the National Occupational Standards in order to complete certification and be recognized nationally.

Why Certification?

The goal of any certification program is to identify and recognize individuals who meet a specified standard of competence in a field.

Employees gain the recognition of having proven themselves competent and increase their chances for job mobility and other opportunities. For employers, certification is a trusted way of recognizing competent employees and building a strong workforce.

Certification Process

emerit certification programs are designed to recognize excellence at various stages of career development. You will be assessed by three main factors, each playing a different role, depending on your occupation and the level of experience. To become certified, you would need to:

  • Pass a knowledge exam
  • Have the required workplace experience
  • Pass a practical evaluation of your performance on the job

emerit certification recognizes training from many programs and takes into account your past experience and knowledge already gained on the job. That means you don’t have to start from scratch. You can enter the emerit certification process at many points, depending on your current knowledge and experience, allowing you to tailor a program that meets your needs.

Professional Designations

Upon completion of the emerit Professional Certification program, employees earn the following professional designations and the right to display these designations on business cards and résumés:

  • As a frontline employee, you are eligible for the Tourism Certified Professional (TCP) designation.
  • As a Supervisor, you can achieve the Tourism Certified Supervisor (TCS) designation.
  • As a Manager, you are eligible for the Tourism Certified Manager (TCM) designation.

To find out which occupations have National Certification, check out emerit.ca